W2W: to a Gallery Opening

I’ve decided I’m going to start a series of blog posts with the title W2W (what to wear). I’ll select two different outfit options with two prices (high and low) for each post.

******

This weekend, I’m attending a gallery opening for a three day event. I’m actually the curator for the event, so I want to look my best as I represent the work I have done in organizing and setting up the gallery, as well as being one of many artists displaying art. I’m unsure of what to wear, so maybe you can help me decide between my two options. Here they are:

Option 1

Forever 21 Cheap Dress option

  1. Forever 21 Black V-Back Sheath Dress, $33.80
  2. Nine West Martina, $115.00

Total: $148.80

Expensive Dress Option

  1. Halston Heritage Ponte V-Neck Dress, $404.91
  2. Giuseppe Zanotti Patent Leather Pump, $566.87

Total: $971.78

Little black dresses are always a must-have in every closet. I own many black dresses and I have one similar to both of the ones I’ve chosen here. I got mine a few years ago from Aritzia. It’s the same length as the Forever 21 one I’ve shown here, but it’s got a lovely deep V in the front, like the Halston Heritage one. I’d pair it with pointy-toed pumps and some vintage gold jewelry.

Option 2

Cheap pant

  1. Forever 21 Standup Collar Chiffon Shirt, $21.80
  2. Nine West Martina, $115.00
  3. Forever 21 Tuxedo Stripe Trousers, $27.80

Total: $164.60

Expensive Pant Outfit

  1. Vince Zippered Placket Blouse, $307.73
  2. Giuseppe Zanotti Patent Leather Pump, $566.87
  3. Joseph Chain Detail Legging Pant, $480.49

Total: $1355.19

A crisp, white shirt tucked into straight-leg, black pants is always a classy go-to look. It’s simple and looks fabulous when paired with some gold jewelry and high heeled pointed-toe pumps. Last week, I purchased a crisp, white Michael Kors blouse for $35 on sale at a little boutique on the Danforth, and black Zara legging pants from the Zara at Yorkdale. I’m still undecided, but I might wear my new purchases with an old pair of pumps or closed-toe black wedges.

I feel that when attending a gallery event, the main focus should be the art and not a vibrant outfit. An outfit for a gallery event should be classy and simple and not the main attraction of the event, which is why I strongly encourage a black and white ensemble (or sticking to a neutral palette).

What should I wear to my gallery event tomorrow: a LBD with black pumps or a crisp, white shirt with straight-leg pants and black pumps?

What would you wear to a semi-formal gallery opening?

One thought on “W2W: to a Gallery Opening

  1. Pingback: The Artist | blonde scientist

Leave a Reply

